logo

Council Members

City Council

The City of North Kansas City has a Third Class Mayor-Council-Administrator form of government as set forth in the Revised Statutes of the State of Missouri. The City is divided into four wards and two residents from each ward are elected to serve on the City Council. Each Council member serves a 2-year term, and the terms are staggered so only one Council member per ward is up for election each year. According to Revised Missouri State Statutes Section 77.060: "No person shall be councilman unless he is at least twenty-one years of age prior to taking office, a citizen of the United States, and an inhabitant of the city for one year next preceding his election, and a resident of the ward from which he is elected six months next preceding his election. Whenever there is a tie in the election of a councilman, the matter shall be determined by the council".

Council members are responsible for determining policy, enacting ordinances and authorizing expenditures.

City Council Meetings

The City Council meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month.  The regular business meeting begins at 7 p.m.  Many, but not all, regular meetings are preceded by a work session at 6 p.m.  Meetings are held in the City Council chamber at City Hall, 2010 Howell Street.  All meetings are open to the public.

Ward 1

Rita Pearce
Rita Pearce
(816) 591-0615
rpearce@nkc.org
Bryant DeLong
Bryant DeLong
(913) 636-4325
bdelong@nkc.org

 

Ward 2

valerie
Valerie Pearman
816-945-2NKC
(816-945-2652)
vpearman@nkc.org
bill
Bill Sanders
(816) 808-0699
bsanders@nkc.org

 

 

Ward 3

zachary
Zachary Clevenger
Mayor Pro Tem
(816) 550-5901
zclevenger@nkc.org
richard
Richard Stewart
(816) 398-2754
rstewart@nkc.org

 

 

Ward 4

tom
Tom Farr
(816) 221-4188
tfarr@nkc.org
fred
Fred Steffen
(816) 421-3423
fsteffen@nkc.org

City Hall
2010 Howell St
North Kansas City, MO 64116

Phone 816-274-6000

Regular Hours:
Monday - Friday
8am to 5pm

North Kansas City | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2019 West Corporation.