Community For All Ages

What is a Community for All Ages?
A community for all ages is one designed to be more welcoming to residents of all ages.  It is a community that is more vibrant, healthy and prosperous.  The First Suburbs Coalition (FSC) and the KC Communities for All Ages Initiative (KCC) developed the Communities for All Ages Recognition Program to recognize communities that have taken steps to become a Community for All Ages (CFAA).

Day by day, America is getting older. 
Ten thousand baby boomers turn 65 every 24 hours. According to census projections, by 2050, the number of older adults in America will double to more than 89 million, and more than one out of five Americans will be 65 or older. The nine-county Kansas City region anticipates the population of those 65 and over will increase by 90 percent during the same time-frame. North Kansas City will also see an increase in the 65+ population.

NKC Population Growth

What has North Kansas City done so far?
  • The North Kansas City City Council passed Resolution 18-030 on June 5, 2018, which started the process of North Kansas City receiving its Bronze recognition as a Community for All Ages. 
  • City staff attended a presentation by the Mid-America Regional Council’s CFAA staff and a representative from a neighboring town with CFAA recognition
  • City staff, with MARC CFAA staff are presenting the program to area stakeholders, such as the Business Council, the Rotary Club, and the Clay County Coffee Connect
  • City staff will soon distribute an online survey for NKC residents to express their wants and needs on topics of concern for CFAA
  • The City will hold/held an Open House for residents to learn about CFAA and how it can benefit them and their loved ones

What’s next?
The survey will not only help the City become aware of how the residents are feeling, but it will also be used to help the City be recognized by MARC, Community for All Ages recognition program.  The Community for All Ages recognition program is a three-tiered level consisting of Bronze, Silver, and Gold.  North Kansas City is in the process of obtaining the Bronze level.  To obtain these levels we will follow these next steps:
  • Utilizing the survey responses, we will assess our community and issue a report based on the findings and recommendations.  This level will be a long process, but it will be beneficial to have all the “needs” up front and will help us receive the Silver level.
  • After the assessment, a plan of how we are going to implement the “needs” will be adopted.  This adoption stage is important because it demonstrates the City’s commitment to implementing the plan.  After the adoption then the City will be awarded the Gold level.
  • The final step is maintaining the work that we have done.  Not only will this help us keep the awards that we have worked so hard to earn, but also so that our community keeps progressing in a positive direction.
Click here to learn more about the Communities for All Ages Recognition Program. 

City Hall
2010 Howell St
North Kansas City, MO 64116

Phone 816-274-6000

Regular Hours:
Monday - Friday
8am to 5pm

North Kansas City | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2019 West Corporation.